The MOBO awards are back and have set the internet abuzz with their release of
nominees for this year.

The MOBOS, short for Music Of Black Origin, is an award ceremony set up specifically for
music and artists of Black British, Caribbean and African descent, where they can get the
recognition for their impact and contributions to the music scene as a whole. Especially when it is widely known that many prestigious music award ceremonies don’t authentically recognise black talent.

There are a couple favourites for this year with Dave being the most nominated artist for this
year with five nominations including Best Male Act, with Central Cee following closely behind with four. Little Simz comes in with 3 nominations off of her highly acclaimed album “Sometimes I Might Be Introvert” alongside Frequent collaborator, soul singer Cleo soul.
Arlo parks is coming of a hugely successful Award season as Brit Awards ‘Break-though Artist and the prestigious Mercury Prize winner to 3 nominations for her award winning album “Collapsed in Sunbeams” (for all nominees and nominations see below)

The MOBOS this year are gearing up to be a historic moment for the music scene, as they
announced a separate category for drill artists. This comes off the back of the Body remix
which was the drill song to reach No.1 on the UK charts, and with the growing popularity of
drill, there’s no doubt other music award ceremonies will start recognising drill as a genre to be celebrated as it is crafted from Black British culture.

With these nominations the MOBOS have definitely built up anticipation for
what will most likely be a historic night, who are you most looking
forward to seeing perform? And who do you want to win? Get in touch with us and let us

Tickets to watch the MOBOs live in Coventry are available now.
The ceremony will be live-streamed on YouTube on 5 December – tune in and hit ‘subscribe’ at

Best male act
AJ Tracey
Central Cee
Headie One
Potter Payper

Best female act
Arlo Parks
Bree Runway
Cleo Sol
Little Simz
Tiana Major9

Album of the year
Arlo Parks – Collapsed in Sunbeams
Celeste – Not Your Muse
Cleo Sol – Mother
Dave – We’re All Alone in This Together
Ghetts – Conflict of Interest
Headie One – Edna

Song of the year
A1 x J1 – Latest Trends
Central Cee – Commitment Issues
Dave – Clash (feat Stormzy)
Enny – Peng Black Girls (feat Amia Brave)
Pa Salieu – My Family (feat BackRoad Gee)
Tion Wayne & Russ Millions – Body (remix feat ArrDee, Bugzy Malone, Buni, Darkoo, E1, ZT
& Fivio Foreign)

Best newcomer
Arlo Parks
BackRoad Gee
Central Cee
Joy Crookes
Midas the Jagaban
Wes Nelson

Video of the year
Bree Runway – Hot Hot
Fredo – Money Talks (feat Dave)
Little Simz – Woman (feat Cleo Sol)
M1llionz – Lagga
Pa Salieu – My Family (feat BackRoad Gee)
Slowthai – Mazza (feat A$AP Rocky)

Best R&B/soul act
Cleo Sol
Jorja Smith
Tiana Major9

Best grime act
Bugzy Malone
D Double E

Best hip-hop act
D-Block Europe
Little Simz
Potter Payper

Best drill act
Central Cee
Digga D
Headie One
K Trap
Russ Millions
Tion Wayne
Unknown T

Best international act
Doja Cat
Kanye West
Lil Nas X
Megan Thee Stallion
Polo G
Young Stoner Life (Young Thug & Gunna)

Best performance in a TV show/film
Ashley Thomas – Them
Damson Idris – Snowfall
Daniel Kaluuya – Judas & the Black Messiah
Letitia Wright – Small Axe
Micheal Ward – Small Axe

Best media personality
Charlene White
Chunkz & Yung Filly
Harry Pinero
Henrie Kwushue
Julie Adenuga
Maya Jama
Mo Gilligan
Munya Chawawa
Nella Rose
Zeze Millz

Best gospel act
CalledOut Music
Cece Winans
Guvna B
Kirk Franklin
Maverick City Music

Best African music act
Ayra Starr
Burna Boy
King Promise
Tiwa Savage