Culturally significant moments always need that perfect playlist. Well, ‘We did it, Joe’ because the Biden-Harris team has released their 46-song Inaugural Playlist. The team released a statement that said the playlist ‘represents the diversity of our nation, and our strength and resilience as well look forward to a new leadership and a new era in America’.

The playlist offers a wide-ranging list of songs across genres and decades with a hopeful and inspiring mood. It echoes the emotions of many across the country as the 45th President’s term comes to an end and celebrations began with the Pre-Inauguration concert took place Sunday 17th January 2021 and that took place.

The 46-track playlist offers a mix of tunes from MF Doom, Dua Lipa, Springsteen, Hall & Oates, Doobie Brothers, SZA, Kendrick Lamar, and more. The committee teamed with DJ D-Nice and Raedio (the record label founded by Issa Rae) to assemble the playlist and is available on Spotify, Apple Music, Tidal, and Amazon Music.

Chief executive of the Presidential Inauguration Committee, Tony Allen, added ‘Today we are excited to share President-Elect Biden’s and Vice-President-Elect Harris’ official Inaugural playlist with the nation. These songs and artists reflect the relentless spirit and rich diversity of America. They are the score to a new chapter and will bring people together as the Biden-Harris Administration begins its important work to unite our country.’

Inauguration Day will take place on Wednesday 20th January 2021 with the ceremony expected to begin at 11.30am ET (4.30pm GMT) with the President-Elect and Vice-President-Elect to be sworn in at midday (5pm GMT).

Both BBC One and ITV with holding two-hour long news specials on Inauguration Day. Coverage of the day will also be airing on Sky News and all-American networks such as CNN and Fox News as well as providing live coverage across their social media platforms.